Who can participate in an OISC training course?

You do not need any formal qualifications to attend the training although having experience in the field may benefit you. Anybody who would like to learn how to become an immigration advisor is recommended to undertake OISC training.

OISC courses are relevant to:

  • Those looking for OISC training courses to begin their career in the immigration sector; and
  • those who are already accredited and are looking to refresh their knowledge and keep up to date with the latest developments in the sector.

What materials are included in the OISC training course?

The training materials include two folders. The first is the actual course content (covering all aspects of the syllabus) and the second is an exam preparation folder. This folder aims to give you all the knowledge required to help you pass the OISC Exams.

Please note that the exams are not included in our OISC courses, this has to be applied for through the OISC directly.

Which level of OISC training course is right for me?

At IAS, we offer OISC courses at Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3.

The material which is covered in each of these courses is progressively more extensive. Our three levels will guide you through the fundamental material needed to understand immigration, Asylum, and EU laws.

If you have not already completed an immigration advisor course, it is advisable that you begin at Level 1. This is so that you can form a base knowledge to build upon.

How will this help my professional development?

All those who intend to become an OISC-authorised advisor within an OISC organisation must have some advice experience. This experience can be gained through employment or volunteering in any legal advice setting.

It is very useful – and sometimes may be a requirement – to have attended an up-to-date training course when applying to be authorised by OISC as an adviser.

For those already OISC-qualified, these courses also count towards your Continuing Professional Development. OISC CPD can demonstrate an appropriate level of commitment to providing accurate and comprehensive advice to an acceptable level of competency to your employer.

How are the OISC exams structured?

The OISC Level 1 Competence Assessment has two parts, a multiple-choice section, and a scenario-based section. The exam is open book, and the training manual that we provide can be taken in with you.

The exam is not included as part of the training we offer.

You can find out more about the competence assessment here.

Upcoming events